History

Woodcutter’s Blanket is housed in a piece of Yukon history at Second Avenue and Strickland Street, in Whitehorse. Registered as the Widdershin cabin and often called “the moose” (referring to the faux animals that adorn its exterior), the small log building dates back to the 1930s.

Built in 1938 by prospector Jack Acheson, the iconic log house was originally used as a family residence at Fourth Avenue and Strickland Street. In 1978, Widdershin Ltd. (a Whitehorse development company) moved the cabin to its current spot. In 1995, the one-storey log structure was entered into the Whitehorse Heritage Buildings Register. 

Over the decades it has been utilized as a company office space, taxidermy business, retail storefront, and now a classic cocktail bar. While a specific date is unknown, the two moose were affixed above the main entrance when it housed the taxidermy business and have made it one of the city’s most photographed buildings.